Canadian University and Community College Directory
Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews

Mentor of the Year award for Newfoundlandand Labrador pediatrician

Canadian University Press Releases

<== Canadian Campus Newswire

Tags: Calgary| Edmonton| Regina| Alberta| Manitoba| Newfoundland| Nunavut| Ontario| Saskatchewan| Yukon| Canada| Clinical| Cognitive Science| Communications| Design| Education| Ethics| Health| History| Medicine| Pediatrics| Teaching and Teacher Education| Awards| Student Life| Prague|

November 18, 2005

Source: Memorial University of Newfoundland:

Mentor of the Year award for Newfoundlandand Labrador pediatrician

SUBJECT: Mentor of the Year award for Newfoundlandand Labrador pediatrician
DATE: Nov. 18, 2005

The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada has selected Dr. Chuck Hobeika, FRCPC, as a Mentor of the Year for 2005 in recognition of his outstanding contributions to medical education, the high standards of care he has demonstrated to students, peers and patients, and his long history of fostering excellence in the pediatric training program at Memorial University.

The Mentor of the Year award, conferred annually in five regions across Canada, acknowledges medical specialists who have demonstrated a long-standing commitment to the welfare of patients and to high standards of excellence in clinical care and ethical conduct. In addition, the award recognizes physicians who have acted as role models to both medical residents and colleagues alike.

Dr. Hobeika was an associate professor of Pediatrics at Memorial University for over 30 years until his retirement in 2001. He remains on staff at the Janeway Children’s Health and Rehabilitation Centre, holding one to two clinics a week.

During his career, Dr. Hobeika received many awards including a 2005 Honorary Membership in Canadian Medical Association, a 2005 Canadian Pediatric Society Certificate of Merit for the Atlantic Region, the Award for Excellence in Teaching from the Professional Association of Interns and Residents of Newfoundland (co-awarded with Dr. W. Sprague in 1989), the Special Person Award from the Dr. Charles A. Janeway Child Child Health Centre and the Founders Award from the Lung Association, Newfoundland and Labrador.

Dr. Hobeika received Mentor of the Year award Nov. 17 at the Annual Awards Ceremony of the Faculty of Medicine at Memorial University. "It is an honour and a privilege to receive this award from the Royal College," said Dr. Hobeika. "I am in great company with the recipients from the other regions across the country."

The Royal College Mentors of the Year are selected by peers and colleagues who volunteer on the College’s Regional Advisory Committees. The Mentors of the Year for 2005 are:

Region 1 - British Columbia, Alberta, Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories

Dr. David Megran, Calgary, and Dr. Louis Honoré, Edmonton

Region 2 - Saskatchewan and Manitoba

Dr. Robert Cameron, Regina

Region 3 - Ontario and Nunavut

To be announced

Region 4 - Québec

Dr. Serge Dubé, Saint-Philippe

Region 5 - New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador

Dr. Chaker Hobeika, St. John's

Incorporated in 1929, The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada is a not-for-profit organization that establishes standards for specialty medical education and administers certification exams across Canada. In addition the college promotes continuing professional development and advocates for specialty care in response to the needs of Canadians. The college’s fellows, over 38,000 specialists, use the designation FRCPC or FRCSC-a symbol of excellence recognized worldwide.

- 30 -

For more information contact Sharon Gray, communications co-ordinator (health sciences), 709 777-8397or



Arts, Humanities and Social Science
Business and Law
Campus Activities
Canadian Cities
Canadian Provinces
Education and Teaching
Fine Arts and Design
Health and Medicine
Language and Culture
Science and Technology
US States
World Countries
World Cities

Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews

Copyright 2003-2008 -