Canadian University and Community College Directory
Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews


Canadian University Press Releases

<== Canadian Campus Newswire

Tags: Laval| Winnipeg| Manitoba| Nunavut| Ontario| Bangladesh| Canada| China| Iceland| Norway| Aboriginal and First Nations| Agriculture| Astronomy and Astrophysics| Audiology and Speech Sciences| Chinese| Communications| Culture| Curriculum and Instruction| Education| English as a Second Language (ESL)| English Language and Literature| Food Science| French| Health| Italian| Icelandic| Law| Leadership and Training| Literacy Education| Literature| Management| Media| Medicine| Natural Resources and Environment| Nursing| Nutrition| Pediatrics| Pharmacology and Toxicology| Physics| Slavic| Social Science| Spanish| Teaching and Teacher Education| Ukrainian| Awards| Student Life|

November 23, 2005

Source: University of Manitoba:


Twenty-one staff members of the University of Manitoba have been recognized for their outstanding community involvement through Outreach Awards which will be presented tonight at a special reception.

This year, recipients include people who provide medical information to the elderly, teach students in the High Arctic, help increase access for Aboriginal students, champion human rights and promote literacy.

Outreach awards this year go to:

Dr. Don Flaten, agriculture and food sciences, for efforts contributing to the future of agriculture in Manitoba while protecting our environment, including phosphorus management research in cattle production and presenting outreach seminars to various agricultural audiences throughout Manitoba.

Dr. Ishmael Bruce, Centre for Community Oral Health, for his leadership, commitment and service in bringing dental care to the residents of the Norway House Cree Nation.

James Kominowski, Elizabeth Dafoe Library, for developing and sustaining an excellent collection in the area of Slavic Studies, a collection which attracts scholars and visitors from across Canada and around the world, and for forging strong links with the Slavic community in Winnipeg.

Tim Podolsky, English Language Centre, for his service as a volunteer teacher of English as a Second Language (ESL) for high school students at Camp Tabir Zustrich, a two-week educational exchange between Canadian students and Ukrainian students in the summer of 2005.

Dr. Joan Durrant, family social sciences, for her extensive work related to public education and advocacy regarding the elimination of physical punishment to children, including increasing accessibility of programs in the Department of Family Social Sciences to Aboriginal students.

Debra Parkes, law, for her service with the Elizabeth Fry Society in Manitoba, the women's Legal Education and Action Fund (LEAF) and the National Association of Women and the Law.

Ian Cameron, physics and astronomy, for his efforts to promote science in general, and astronomy in particular, bringing astronomy into Manitoba classrooms through the Ewen Remote Observing Site at the Glenlea Research Station and for his long-standing involvement in programs for schools and the public at the Lockhart Planetarium.

Linda Lavallee, Campus Security, for the critical role she has played as a volunteer with the Univillage Student Daycare Board of Directors; and for helping students, post-doctoral fellows, visiting researchers and their families who are new to Canada to connect and make links with services offered at the University of Manitoba.

Debra Giesbrecht, Sunita Persaud and Meera Thadani, The Medical Information Line for the Elderly (MILE) Team through the University Centre Pharmacy, for providing sound advice and information to the general public on all medications; for expanding the reach of the MILE program into Manitoba's rural communities and into Nunavut.

Lucette Barber, Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources, for her work as the coordinator of the "Schools on Board" program that involves high school students in the activities of science teams doing research aboard the Amundsen, a retrofitted Canadian Coast Guard icebreaker that is located in the Arctic.

Joe Danis, Housing and Student Life, for his work in developing PRAXIS, a campus-wide initiative that strives to promote community outreach and service-based learning among students, including food and clothing drives, youth mentoring services and penny wars; and for humanitarian work with the Rangpur Dinajpur Regional Service in Bangladesh.

Maggie Duncan, equity services, for sharing her expertise in educational programming and policy development related to harassment and discrimination and for her involvement as a senior officer of the Canadian Association for the Prevention of Discrimination and Harassment in Higher Education, an organization committed to the dissemination of research in the area of harassment, discrimination and human rights in Canadian universities and colleges.

Betty Braaksma, Elizabeth Dafoe Library, for enabling the University as a whole to become recognized for developing an innovative and successful information literacy program; for providing professional development opportunities to librarians in many communities; and for the development of information literacy tools that can be adopted or adapted in numerous institutions.

Dr. Birna Bjarnadottir, Icelandic language and literature, for taking a very active part in the life of the Icelandic community and for raising the profile of the Icelandic Department by drawing Icelandic scholars and students to the University.

Dr. Enrique Fernandez, French, Spanish and Italian, for creating and serving as the artistic director of "Los Titeres de Don Quixote," a puppet company founded in 2005 to commemorate the 400th anniversary of the publication of the Spanish masterpiece Don Quixote, a showcase for the excellent programs in Spanish offered at the University of Manitoba.

Marian Kremers, pharmacy, for her work in developing a Speechcraft program for students in the Faculty of Pharmacy, now a core element of the communications curriculum, ensuring that pharmacists-in-training become effective communicators of drug management.

Dr. Patrick Choy, medicine, for his long-standing service to the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Manitoba and other scientific advisory boards, for nurturing the formation of inter-university exchange programs between the University of Manitoba and institutions in China and for his involvement locally with the Winnipeg Chinese Cultural and Community Centre and the Winnipeg Chinese Community Foundation Fund.

Drs. Elizabeth Sellers and Heather Dean, pediatrics and child health, representing the Diabetes Education Resource Team for Children and Adults, coordinating a variety of outreach programs in rural and northern Manitoba and in northwestern Ontario and for staffing and training students in medicine, nursing and human nutritional sciences who work at Camp Koda, a residential camp for children with diabetes.

For more information, contact:
Chris Rutkowski
Media Relations Coordinator
Public Affairs
Phone: (204) 474-9514
Fax: (204) 474-7631



Arts, Humanities and Social Science
Business and Law
Campus Activities
Canadian Cities
Canadian Provinces
Education and Teaching
Fine Arts and Design
Health and Medicine
Language and Culture
Science and Technology
US States
World Countries
World Cities

Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews

Copyright 2003-2008 -