Canadian University and Community College Directory
Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews


Canadian University Press Releases

<== Canadian Campus Newswire

Tags: Charlottetown| Ottawa| Winnipeg| Alberta| Manitoba| Canada| Cyprus| Africa| Asia| California| Washington| Acting| Economics| Engineering| History| Law| Metals and Materials Engineering| Political Science| Conferences| Lectures| Warsaw|

November 10, 2005

Source: University of Manitoba:


His topic will be: "American Style Lobbying and Canadian Style Governing: Adding to the Democratic Deficit."

Admired and respected for his devotion to public service, his unimpeachable integrity and, not least, for a self-deprecating sense of humour, the Right Honourable Joe Clark was elected eight times to the Canadian House of Commons. He served in Parliament for 25 years, retiring in June 2004. He was Prime Minister of Canada in 1979-80, Secretary of State for External Affairs (Foreign Minister) from 1984-1991, Minister of Constitutional Affairs from 1991-1993, and Acting Minister of both National Defence and Justice. He served twice as Leader of Her Majesty's Loyal Opposition, and twice as National Leader of the Progressive Conservative Party of Canada. During his second period as Progressive Conservative Leader, he was widely regarded as the most effective opposition leader in the House.

He chaired the Canadian Cabinet committees on Foreign and Defence Policy, Security and Intelligence, the Free Trade Agreement with the USA, and the constitutional renewal process that led to the Charlottetown Accord. Internationally, he was the first chairman of the Commonwealth Committee of Foreign Ministers on Southern Africa, which led the Commonwealth campaign against apartheid, chaired the first-ever joint meeting of members of NATO and the Warsaw Pact, and participated actively in eight G-8 (or G-7) Economic Summits. At his direction, Canada assumed its full role and responsibilities in the Organization of American States, recognized the Palestinian right to self- determination, and maintained ODA contributions at their highest levels in recent history.

Mr. Clark was a founding board member of the Pacific Council on International Policy and, before returning to active politics in 1998, served on the boards of international NGOS and Canadian and international companies. He has been a visiting scholar at the University of California, Berkeley, and American University in Washington, DC, and was a Public Policy Scholar at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in 2004. Mr. Clark is a member of the Council of Presidents and Prime Ministers of the Americas, and served as Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Cyprus.

Mr. Clark is a Companion of the Order of Canada, a member of the Alberta Order of Excellence and l''Ordre de la Pleiades, and has been awarded several honourary degrees. He was the first recipient of the Vimy Award, presented by The Conference of Defence Associations Institute, to a "Canadian who has made a significant and outstanding contribution to the defence and security of our nation and the preservation of our democratic values." He is author of the book Canada: A Nation Too Good To Lose.

He is president of Joe Clark and Associates, an international consulting firm based in Canada, and active in Asia and Africa. He and his wife, the author and lawyer Maureen McTeer, reside in Ottawa.

The Templeton Lecture on Democracy is sponsored by the University of Manitoba out of the generosity of Carson Templeton, O.C., LL.D., P. Eng. Dr. Templeton was Chief Engineer of the Greater Winnipeg Dyking Board after the 1950 flood.

In 1997 Templeton established an endowment at the University of Manitoba to support a lecture, symposium, or other event, at least annually, with the aim of examining and assessing political systems, in Canada and elsewhere, insofar as they might shed light on the current state of, the prospects for, and substantive change in, Canadian democracy and democratic institutions.

The Templeton Lectures are administered by the department of political studies, Faculty of Arts. Previous lecturers were: Jeffrey Simpson, John Raulston Saul, Jean Bethke Elshtain, Benjamin Barber, Michael Ignatieff and the Rt. Honourable Beverley McLachlin, P.C., Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada. This year, the lecture is presented in conjunction with the Faculty of Arts and department of political studies.

The seventh Templeton Lecture on Democracy will be presented:

Muriel Richardson Auditorium

The Winnipeg Art Gallery

Tuesday, November 15, 2005

8:00 p.m.

The lecture is free and open to the public.

For more information, call 204-474-7973.



Arts, Humanities and Social Science
Business and Law
Campus Activities
Canadian Cities
Canadian Provinces
Education and Teaching
Fine Arts and Design
Health and Medicine
Language and Culture
Science and Technology
US States
World Countries
World Cities

Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews

Copyright 2003-2008 -