Canadian University and Community College Directory
Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews

Canadian University Press Releases/Newswire

Canadian Campus Newswire

Source: University of Waterloo

UW graduates 1, 376 students, awards six honorary degrees

October 19, 2006

(Thursday, Oct. 19, 2006) -- The University of Waterloo's fall convocation
on Saturday will celebrate the graduation of more than 1,300 students and
the granting of six honorary degrees.

A total of 855 undergraduate and 532 graduate students will receive degrees
and diplomas at morning and afternoon ceremonies in UW's Physical Activities

Among the honorary degree recipients is the United Nations High Commissioner
for Human Rights, Louise Arbour, who will be awarded a doctor of laws (LLD)
at the convocation ceremony for graduates in the faculties of applied health
sciences and arts, starting at 10 a.m. in the physical activities complex.
She will address the graduates.

A former justice of the Supreme Court of Canada well known for her capacity
to deal with difficult problems in the world, Arbour was appointed in 1996
by the Security Council of the United Nations to the challenging job of
chief prosecutor of war crimes for Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia. She
played a key role in turning the International Criminal Tribunals into
effective instruments for justice in those trouble spots.

Andrea Kidd, of Blind River, Ont., will receive the James D. Leslie Prize
for academic excellence in UW's distance education program. Kidd, who
graduated with a bachelor of arts last spring, will receive the $500 award
for having achieved a first-class standing and earning 50 per cent or more
of her degree credits through distance education courses.

Also at the morning convocation ceremony, the following honorary degrees
will be awarded:

  • George Elliott Clarke will receive a doctor of letters (DLitt).

    A UW graduate skilled in three distinct areas (English literature, creative
    writing and leadership) Clarke has made widely recognized contributions to
    the establishment of African Canadian literary culture. He has worked
    extensively to articulate the experience of African Canadians in the fields
    of poetry, fiction, drama, opera, journalism and academic scholarship, as
    well as in political activism, public speaking and formal/informal teaching.

  • Larry Green will receive a doctor of science (DSc).

    A leading researcher and innovator, Green has advanced the field of health
    promotion and disease prevention around the world. His most influential
    book, Health Promotion Planning: An Educational and Environmental Approach,
    integrates the fields of health education and public policy to enhance
    planning in major population interventions.

    As well, honorary degrees will be awarded at the convocation ceremony for
    graduates in the faculties of engineering, environmental studies,
    mathematics and science, beginning at 2 p.m.

  • Pierre Borne will receive a doctor of engineering (DEng) and address the

    A top French expert in the field of systems engineering, continuous systems
    and discrete event systems, Borne is recognized around the world for many
    outstanding academic contributions. He is the founding head of the
    department of automation and industrial information systems at l'École
    Centrale de Lille, one of France's prestigious schools of engineering.

  • James Murray will receive a doctor of mathematics (DMath).

    An emeritus professor at the University of Washington, Murray is a pioneer
    in the field of mathematical biology, including advances in the modelling
    and analysis of factors behind the spread of rabies. He has identified new
    areas of research in mathematical biology and his ideas have been applied to
    a number of pattern formation problems in developmental biology, wound
    healing and problems in modelling the growth of cancers.

  • Marilyn Jacox will receive a doctor of science (DSc).

    The author of more than 175 scientific publications, Jacox is a scientist
    emeritus of the U.S. National Institutes of Standards and Technology in
    Washington, D.C. She has written a key book on spectroscopic data for
    transient molecules, such as free radicals, ions and other molecules having
    a transient existence. Her pioneering work helped to establish the field of
    matrix isolation spectroscopy for studying such molecules.

    Also at the morning convocation ceremony, retired political scientist Ashok
    Kapur will be recognized as a distinguished professor emeritus. In the
    afternoon ceremony, retired faculty members John Reeve, of electrical and
    computer engineering, and John Vanderkooy, of physics, will receive
    distinguished professor emeritus titles.

  • TOP


    Arts, Humanities and Social Science
    Business and Law
    Campus Activities
    Canadian Cities
    Canadian Provinces
    Education and Teaching
    Fine Arts and Design
    Health and Medicine
    Language and Culture
    Science and Technology
    US States
    World Countries
    World Cities

    Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews

    Copyright 2003-2008 -