Canadian University and Community College Directory
Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews

Canadian University Press Releases/Newswire

Canadian Campus Newswire

Source: University of Saskatchewan

Fall Convocation 2006 Award Recipients Announced at U of S

October 27, 2006

Each year, the University of Saskatchewan honours those whose achievements benefit people at home, nationally and internationally. This year's award presentations will take place at Fall Convocation on Saturday, October 28, 2006.

Alumni Award of Achievement
This award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions to the profession, community, and University of Saskatchewan.

Dr. Glen Baker is an exceptional scientist, with a national and international reputation in biological psychiatry and neuropsychopharmacology. His most significant contributions have been made in the areas of involvement of amines and amino acids in the etiology and pharmacotherapy of psychiatric disorders and in drug metabolism. He has also been active in drug development. He is the Director of the Neurochemical Research Unit, a multidisciplinary body at the University of Alberta.

Distinguished Researcher Award
This award was established to emphasize the importance of research at the University.

Wendy Duggleby, Associate Professor in the College of Nursing, studies the relationships among three aspects of end-of-life care: the patient, the family caregiver and the formal caregiver (doctors and nurses). She studies how different aspects of hope in both patient and caregiver can ease the passing of patients and prevent burnout among health care professionals. Her team's work studying the connection between end-of-life and hope led to the production of an award-winning video, Living with Hope.

Master Teacher Award
This award recognizes faculty members who make outstanding contributions to the learning and working environments of the University and to emphasize the importance of good teaching.

Soil Science Professor Dan Pennock is an inspiring colleague and dedicated educator.
Student evaluations are consistently positive. One student wrote: "He had a very good attitude towards all students and did a great job of promoting independent thinking."
The Agriculture Students Association recognized Dr. Pennock as Professor of the Year in 1996 and 2005. The North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA) awarded him a Teaching Award of merit in 2005.

Distinguished Graduate Supervisor
This award was established to honour faculty members who excel in the supervision of graduate students.

Dr. Dale Ward is the Graduate Chair in Chemistry at the University of Saskatchewan and the Director of the Saskatchewan Structural Sciences Centre. He believes that our lasting legacy lies in those that we train.

He has supervised 8 Ph.D. and 8 M.Sc. theses and currently supervises 8 doctoral students. Including undergraduate researchers and post-doctoral fellows, there are about 40 past and present members of the "Ward Group" from 15 countries.

J. W. George Ivany Internationalization Award
This award recognizes outstanding contributions made to enhance internationalization at and for the University of Saskatchewan. It was named after George Ivany, who was President from 1989-99.

The University of Saskatchewan chapter of Engineers Without Borders (EWB) aims and acts to reduce extreme poverty in the world by fostering human development through increased access to socially-sensitive technologies. It is a student-led organization established in 2002 and has over 170 members on campus. Globally, 10 U of S students have served overseas primarily to support Information and Communication Technology Centres in the Philippines as part of the University-supported SCALA project.

Outreach and Public Service Award
This award recognizes a faculty member who has made an outstanding effort to further the University of Saskatchewan's extension and public service mission.

As a faculty member in the Department of Physics and Engineering Physics, Professor Chilakamarri Rangacharyulu has taken his passion for science beyond the boundaries of his Department, College and this University. Since 1999, he has participated in every Canada-Wide Science Fair (CWSF), co-chaired the successful bid proposal to bring the 2002 Fair to Saskatoon and then co-chaired the organizing committee. He has also been a tireless advocate of student success, particularly the transition from high school to university.

President's Service Award
This award was established to recognize exceptional contributions by non-academic staff at the University of Saskatchewan.

Brad Steeves has over 29 years of exemplary service to the University including about 15 years instructing students in Microbiology before becoming more involved in research administration in the College of Medicine. In 2000, he assumed responsibility for the newly centralized Laboratory Animal Services Unit. He also served extensively with the Administrative and Supervisory Personnel Association (ASPA.

Full citations, biographical notes and photographs are also available at:

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

University Communications
University of Saskatchewan
(306) 966-6607



Arts, Humanities and Social Science
Business and Law
Campus Activities
Canadian Cities
Canadian Provinces
Education and Teaching
Fine Arts and Design
Health and Medicine
Language and Culture
Science and Technology
US States
World Countries
World Cities

Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews

Copyright 2003-2008 -