Canadian University and Community College Directory
Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews

U of A Celebration of Teaching and Learning

Canadian University Press Releases

<== Canadian Campus Newswire

Tags: Edmonton| Tracy| Alberta| Saskatchewan| Aboriginal and First Nations| Creative Writing| Drama| English Language and Literature| Film and Video| Literature| Teaching and Teacher Education| Awards| Theatre| Student Life| Hamilton| Kingston| London| Ottawa| Toronto| Ontario| Canada| Counselling and Therapy| Latin| Medicine| Microbiology and Immunology| Pathology and Laboratory Medicine| Clinical| Communications| Health| Hematology| Law| Media| Public Relations| Montreal|

September 10, 2005

Source: University of Alberta:

U of A Celebration of Teaching and Learning

September 09, 2005 - The University of Alberta will honour more than 400 of its best and brightest teachers and students today at the 10th annual Celebration of Teaching and Learning. This very special event begins at 3:30 p.m. in the Myer Horowitz Theatre on campus.

This year's Celebration of Teaching and Learning is especially significant as 2005 marks the 10th year the event has been held. "The University of Alberta takes pride in beginning the academic year by honouring its star faculty and students," said U of A Provost and Vice-President (Academic) Dr. Carl Amrhein. "We are marking 10 years of excellence in teaching and learning, which defines the essence of this institution."

Among the highlights of this year's event is the presentation of the University Cup, the U of A's highest faculty honour. The award recognizes a senior professor whose career reflects excellence in both teaching and research. This year, the honour goes to Dr. Patricia Demers, a U of A professor in the Faculty of Arts for 30 years. Working in the Department of English and Film Studies, Demers teaches and researches modern women's writing, 17th century poetry, Elizabethan drama and children's literature. She has published 11 books.

Many undergraduate and graduate students will also be recognized this year for their outstanding academic and extra-curricular achievements. Their awards include the President's ($25,000), Chancellor's ($15,000) and Dean's ($7,500 to $12,500) citation scholarships. This year, the U of A Scholastic Distinction Program will present more than 90 awards valued at more than $1.3 million payable over four years to outstanding U of A students. The program complements a broad U of A scholarship package valued at more than $21 million annually.

Other highlights of the celebration this year include the presentation of two new awards: the Eric Newell Dean's Undergraduate Citation in Native Studies, being awarded to Tracy Bear-Coon of Edmonton, Alberta, and the Augustana Faculty Dean's Entrance Citation, being awarded to Sarah Skinner of Turtleford, Saskatchewan.

A Celebration of Teaching and Learning processional begins today at 3:25 p.m. in the Students' Union Office in SUB and will make its way along the second floor until it reaches the Myer Horowitz Theatre. Led by a bagpiper and an Aboriginal drummer, the processional will include Alberta Lieutenant Governor the Honourable Norman Kwong, U of A President Dr. Indira Samarasekera and other dignitaries, who will all be wearing traditional academic robes.

For more information please contact

Bev Betkowski
Public Affairs



Arts, Humanities and Social Science
Business and Law
Campus Activities
Canadian Cities
Canadian Provinces
Education and Teaching
Fine Arts and Design
Health and Medicine
Language and Culture
Science and Technology
US States
World Countries
World Cities

Student InfoGraduationEmploymentNews

Copyright 2003-2008 -